Service For You With All Sincerity

What is the wavelength of CWDM SFP?
Knowledge Base + 2024.01.12

CWDM (Coarse Wavelength Division Multiplexing) SFP (Small Form-Factor Pluggable) transceiver modules are designed to transmit and receive optical signals over specific wavelength channels in the CWDM grid. The CWDM grid typically consists of multiple wavelengths, each corresponding to a specific channel. The exact wavelengths used in CWDM systems adhere to the ITU-T G.694.2 standard.

Common CWDM channels and their corresponding wavelengths include:

  1. Channel 1 (CH1): Approximately 1471 nm

  2. Channel 2 (CH2): Approximately 1491 nm

  3. Channel 3 (CH3): Approximately 1511 nm

  4. Channel 4 (CH4): Approximately 1531 nm

  5. Channel 5 (CH5): Approximately 1551 nm

  6. Channel 6 (CH6): Approximately 1571 nm

  7. Channel 7 (CH7): Approximately 1591 nm

  8. Channel 8 (CH8): Approximately 1611 nm

These wavelengths represent the center frequencies of each CWDM channel. CWDM SFP transceivers are available for various channels within this wavelength range, allowing network operators to select the appropriate channels based on their specific needs and infrastructure.

When deploying CWDM SFP modules, it's important to ensure that the wavelengths of the transceivers match the wavelengths of the corresponding CWDM channels in the network. This alignment ensures proper connectivity and functionality in a CWDM system. Always refer to the specific documentation provided by the CWDM SFP module manufacturer for accurate information on the supported wavelength channels.